A Film-Noir Approach

Whilst coming up with the character design of William Dyer, I utilised the idea of film-noir by doing some research into L.A. Noire. I know it isn’t set in the right era but it is a crime thriller and for what I want out of this character, I know the style portrayed in L.A. Noire is a step in the right direction.

I think one of the most important aspects from this game is the fact that the setting is post-war L.A. I have been struggling to get my mind around the feel of post-war America, so this no doubt helps. Also, the idea of a looming war I think should influence the characters style. I don’t want to just be boring and have a straight up geologist, I would like him to be a bit more stylised. Maybe throw in a classic suit etc. Subtle changes. I do like the idea of aviator jackets. I know they are all the rage in my generation but I think it would be practical as opposed to just a fashion statement. Any whose, back to the point of research here. L.A. Noire is a good point of information because of the 1940’s style to it. In terms of the characters clothing etc. Another good point of source is Gangs of New York and Shutter Island. All I need to do is find a middle point between these two time eras of fashion.

Leave a Reply

