Maya, and all that Jazz!

During the lovely summer break, I have lost all knowledge of how to work Maya!! On friday we had a recap session with Matt, just going over some basics. The majority of the session was me using the undo button (z) to correct failed attempts… I guess it is going to take a while to get back into things this year.

After getting used to the navigation buttons, I did a fairly simple exercise that allowed me to make a UV map texture for a cube. The concept of this was fairly simple, as I had used UV maps last year in the animation brief.Although saying that, I still don’t know how to make your own UV map, so that it isn’t a complete mess of overlapped shapes.

WE also played around with our first ever rig, it was a lot easier than I thought it would be, but the idea of making a whole human skeleton is still overwhelming. I’m kind of glad that I am keeping my design simple as I think it will help later on!

The session touched on Inverse and Forward kinematics and their differences. Initially I was totally lost at how you made an inverse one but then I realised that I had done it and not even realised! I guess it was one of those days!

Leave a Reply

