Edge magazine, issue August 2011

The cover of the August 2011 edition of Edge magazine is one to be reckoned with. The article itself is one that to my current project is of a fair bit of value. The Wii U received the best audience response at this years E3, which shows that the fans want more out of interactive gaming. For my current Game Design brief, I am designing a futuristic city taking influence from an 80’s vision of the future. So, this article in Edge proves to me that not only in gaming but also in life in general, that as human beings we are searching for the ultimate interactivity objects. This has informed my chosen design of making the environment very interactive, although I’m not yet sure how hard this will be to do in unity…I’m sort of thinking it will encompass some of the features of the forensic glasses and ‘power glove’ developed in Heavy Rain.

An interesting part of the article is when Eguchi states “I don’t think it’s necessary for all Wii U games to use all of its features, including the touchscreen.”, this shows that even though they have developed a console that can function in lots of different interactive modes, they don’t expect it to use all of them at the same time. So, when I am looking at how the objects within the apartment work, I should make sure that I don’t go overboard with it and make them too amazing!!

Leave a Reply

