Game Design Document

Now that we are coming to the end of this brief I have finished my game design document to a level in which it could be placed into the finished book. I have sent a copy over to Luke to get some feedback from him and so that he can check that what I have put is cohesive with his work.

Game Design Document Pitch sheet

After completing this a sense of relief has been lifted from me. I feel like the concept is becoming more than just a story with a few pictures, the game design document has put the game into context, allowing it to become a realistic pitch. The document covers:

  • Title
  • Genre
  • Target Audience
  • Concept
  • Category
  • Game Flow summary
  • Look, Feel, The visual style
  • Project scope
  • Story setting

From my original outset for the document I have covered pretty much all the points I wished to include. The only things I haven’t included are game art, gameplay and mechanics and the feature set. These were left out as at this point in the conceptual development I don’t have enough time or information to fully consider these; this is due to them being mainly finished outcomes.

Leave a Reply

